The ARC Gazette, from yours truly #7

It has been a slightly busy week, with loads of reviews written, some much awaited approvals, and review ratio finally picking up!!


ARCs releasing this week

The Queen Will Betray You, 6th of July, 2021: I just finished The Princess Will Save You this morning, and suffice it to say, I am so glad I was approved for the sequel already because I cannot wait to start!

If Only, 6th of July, 2021: I finished this one yesterday, and while the beginning of this one was positively awful, the second half of it was still bearable, and I ended up giving it 3 stars.

What We Devour, 6th of July, 2021: I read this last to last week, I think, and I really enjoyed this, even though it’s ending was awful. There’s loads of scope for expansion in this, but I only want it if there’s more Alistair.

The Queen’s Spy, 8th of July, 2021: This is one I’ve had for a while now, but still haven’t started. I’m most likely going to read this one end of this month or the start of next.

What If You And Me, 6th of July, 2021: I was approved for this one quite recently, but I think I’ll read this next month. Not to say I’m not excited, but I’d completely forgot I’d even requested this when I was approved!


ARCs I was denied for this week

It is very very weird, the way I’m never approved for anything that has Indian characters on Edelweiss, even though I’m OwnVoices for it. Or even on Netgalley, why are we making a distinction. These books are either never available for request (only wish for it), or I’m denied for them.


ARCs I was approved for this week

Aggie The Horrible Vs. Max the Pompous Ass, 19th of July, 2021: I was approved for this! Thankfully! As soon as I saw the words Pompous Ass in the title, I knew I wanted it XD I cannot wait to start this, and I just know I’m going to probably start it this week or the next!

The Fastest Way To Fall, 2nd of November, 2021: I CANNOT BELIEVE I WAS APPROVED FOR THIS!?!?!? AND THAT TOO ON EDELWEISS!?!?!?! I just loved How To fail At Flirting, and I can’t wait to start this one!! Though I’ll probably wait till I’ve finished more pressing ARCs because this is from Edelweiss, and it doesn’t expire till November.


Other Stuff

I’ve been making good headway with ARCs this week, and my review ratio is finally above 40%! Though it is only 43%…but I have a few reviews in mind to write today, and bring it up to like 50%.

In other news, I brought down the number of those ARCs I really, really wanted to 3 from 5, and I’m trying to pick only the ones I really, really want from these 3 and request them. Or maybe I’ll request all of them, but for that i’d need to write at least 15 more reviews. We’ll see what happens.

The thing I was referring to in my last Weekly was this guide by Mandy@Devouring Books who recently started following me, and it has so many amazing resources to get ARCs (I signed up for a few of them to see what they’re about), so go check that out because it had a load of helpful stuff!!

One more thing I wanted to mention was that this week I got an email from Boldwood Books, a publishing house that approves me regularly and has great blogger opportunities, inviting me to see some ARCs on Netgalley, and I was so excited! Unfortunately, none of the books were really ones that I would request on sight, and I have way too many books to finish to try anything new, so I didn’t take advantage of any of the widgets, but if you like their books and you’re a blogger, do sign up for their newsletter and emails!

I got another email form Entangled (God, I love this publishing house at this point) for review widgets, and I signed up for two of them! (The third I wanted was Aggie The Horrible (God, I could have just waited for a week and requested from this) I still haven’t reviewed all of the previous books from them that I was approved for, but now I have incentive!

There really isn’t anything else related to ARCs, but I have quite a lot of fodder for this week’s Weekly What Am I Doing With My Life!


Well, that’s it! Hope you enjoyed!

How’s your ARC week going?

Have you read/ are you planning to read any of these?

Do you have better luck getting OwnVoices ARCs than me? And do you have some tips for ARCs directly from publishers via Netgalley/Edelweiss?

let me know in the comments!


Leave a comment