Weekly What Am I Doing With My Life #3

And I’m back with this week’s episode of procrastination….though I’ve actually done quite some stuff this week.


What I did this week

Books I read and reviewed

I finished Bone Crier’s Moon, which turned out to be just alright….I wish it was a standalone, I really felt the story pulled a lot in the end. Still, I’m looking forward to the next book, but maybe in a few weeks…I have a lot to catch up on and look forward to still, without being regaled with Bastien’s and Ailessa romance which I’m not onboard with. I did enjoy the last twist in the end though, maybe this will signify more romance development in the next book.

Betting on Love was also just alright, but the way it went completely out of this world and started having the whole is this incest or not thing I was just not enjoying it. I decided on 3 stars, and I’m hoping to write a review later today.

Dark and Deepest Red was an enjoyable reread, and I’d like to say I understood what the hell was going on a lot better this time round. I’m still sticking to the 4 stars rating, though, more on that in the review, which I hope to write before the end of this week.

I absolutely loved Traitors of The Black Crown, which is an ARC, so I have a long wait before we get to know more about the sequel, but thankfully there was a short excerpt at the end, which only succeeded in giving me even more questions than answers, but hey, I loved it!!

The Secret Garden was an amazing, short, and sweet read, though there were a few serious bits, I tackled them in the review and will not be expanding here. the illustrations were amazing, and I just really enjoyed it!

I finished Spin The Dawn yesterday, and did it in one reading; I was just hooked! It was so much better than I was expecting, but yet was a bit flat on some others…more on that in the review, which I hope to write this week. I’ve decided on a 5 stars rating though!

I started In My Mother’s Footsteps this week, and I’m really enjoying it….even though I have to take breaks in between reading because it gets very depressing in places. Which, when you think about the subject matter, makes complete sense, but I’m still enjoying. I hope to finish it before the end of May, and I’m hoping to make loads of headway today!

I’m absolutely loving Rule of Wolves!!! I started reading more seriously yesterday and the day before, and it’s going so good! I’ve missed all these characters, and I’m finally reading about them *wipes tear*. Cannot wait to continue, and I’m hoping to finish this one by the end of May as well.

I started The Rose and The Dagger yesterday, and while I’m really enjoying it, the angst is getting to me a bit. I really want to finish it today though! And I’m seriously hoping there’s a happy ending O_o

Her Scottish Scoundrel is an ARC I’ve had for months, and I started it this week, and was really loving it till they declared their love 50% into the book. I was so disappointed, by this and their other actions. I’m hoping to finish today, and tackle the issues I had in a review asap. Edit: I’m just about to publish this post, and I finished this one an hour back. Turned out to be alright, but mostly disappointing considering this was going so good. Probably 3 stars.

So, turns out I was in a writing mood when I said I was, because I wrote 6 (SIX) reviews this week. no one is more shocked than me, believe me when I say it. I think I’ve exhausted all I want to talk about them already, but I have to mention that while I tried my best to put everything I wanted into my A Court of Silver Flames review, I still feel I could have done more….but I had a discussion a month or so back when I actually finished the book with Marie, a friend of mine on my nook in The Midnight readers, and it covers what else I wanted to cover, and I will be publishing that as a interview/discussion post at some point, hopefully in this Sunday or the next!

Posts I published this week

This week’s posts

The Aesthete Blogger Award

Here are the rules:- Use the official logo/graphic of the award and display it on your blog. List the rules. Show some love to the one who nominated you! Mention the creator (Asmita@ the Fictional Journal) and link it back to the original post. Tell me a something about this world that you admire. What is your favourite…

Keep reading

What I’m going to be doing this week

Books and how much I plan to read

As of now, I need to finish whatever I’m currently reading, that is Her Scottish Scoundrel, Rule of Wolves, The Rose and The Dagger, and In My Mother’s Footsteps by the end of May, which is three and a half days from now. Cutting it close, much?

I also really want to start and finish Royal Trouble either in May, or start asap in June. As you might know form my ARC gazette #1, it published last week, and I’m behind on it. On that note I also have to do the Mix-Up, but I’m more laid back about that because I was anyway going to start it in June.

I said I was going to strat Midnight Star last week, but as you might have guessed by now I seriously had no time…but my BR partner and I decided to start it i June, so that’ll be happening this week. I finally wrote the review for the Rose Society, so I’m glad I can start it at any time.

I’ve also really been postponing on By Your Side, but me and my BR partner decided we’re going to start it together beginning of June, which is this week!

I have a BR scheduled for Twice in A Lifetime, which sounds like a second chance romance, kid fic, and looking for someone when they’re right beside you rolled into one….also a bit like Would Like To Meet, because I anticipate a counter-intuitive love interest.

Beach Read is a reread, and since I absolutely loved it the first time, I just want to sink into it again! I have a BR scheduled for this too…in fact I mostly only read books if I have a BR. I just loved the writing part of this, and enemies to lovers with a competition thrown in is exactly what I need right now!

Make Me Wilder is an ARC, and I’m excited for this! It sounds amazing, what with possible forced proximity and the different worlds trope…unfortunately I have no BR, but I can’t wait to start!

Maxine Morrey has been one of my favourite rom-com authors, and I can’t believe I got approved for one of their books! I’m so happy, and Things Are Looking Up sounds amazing, even though it has a second chance romance…the near death experience in the synopsis promises some deep thoughts too.

Posts I’ll be publishing this week

So you can expect either the ACOSF discussion I promised above, or a general discussion post; I still haven’t started so I don’t know what I’ll decide on, but it’ll most likely be the ACOSF one because right now it’s fresh in my mind given I wrote the review just recently.

On Tuesday, I’ll be doing the ARC Gazette #2, which might feature noticeably lesser books because I’ve restrained myself from going on Netgalley in general. It’s going good so far, but you never know what might happen.

On Wednesday, we start a new month of Top 5 Wednesday! For this week’s topic we have backlist books, which I must have a lot of….I think. You’ll have to wait to find out though 😉


Well, that’s it! Hope you enjoyed, though you might have just skimmed through given this turned out to be a lot longer than I’d expected!

How’s your week going? What are you reading this week?

Are any of these books on your TBR?
Have you read/heard of any of these books?

let me know in the comments!


6 thoughts on “Weekly What Am I Doing With My Life #3

  1. ooh glad to hear you enjoyed spin the dawn and rule of wolves, i still need to go read shadow and bone to get to the king of scars duology haha, i couldn’t resist starting six of crows first and do not regret it!! wow great job on the six reviews, have a good next week! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ha, I did the same with SaB, I’d read SoC thinking it was a series by itself, then months later I found out it was part of the grishaverse! Still, I found SoC to be loads better, but KoS is mostly worth it, at least up till now! Hope you enjoy SaB!
      Thanks so much! You too 🙂 ❤ ❤

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment